In recognition of the 20th Anniversary, The Howie Stillman Young Leadership Fund embarked on its largest philanthropic project, teaming up with Free The Children to build a one room school house in Kenya similar to the one you see in the picture to the right. A group of eleven volunteers traveled to Kenya in Spring of 2006 to build this school. Subsequently, four more groups have traveled to this area. This has resulted in 12 school rooms, one preschool room, three teachers’ quarters, a library, kitchen, and water system. A medical clinic to serve 25,000 adults and children is in the planning stages.

FREE THE CHILDREN is the largest network of children helping children through education in the world, with more than one million youth involved in innovative education and development programs in 45 countries. Founded by international child rights activist Craig Kielburger, Free The Children has an established track-record of success, with three nominations for the Nobel Peace Prize and partnerships with the United Nations and Oprah’s Angel Network. To see more about the fund's involvement with this project click the KENYA PROJECT link. To see a video of the Kenya project click here.

HERZL CAMP, located on 120 acres in Webster, Wisconsin on the shores of Devil's Lake, is accredited with the American Camping Association and offers summers filled with plenty of activities, Ruach, Judaism, dance, lifelong friendships, great food and fun! The Howie Stillman Young Leadership Fund has created a fire pit with stadium style seating that will allow the entire camp to gather together for evening programs. The fund also provides camp scholarships to children with special needs.

UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA SCHOOL OF JOURNALISM Each year the Howie Stillman Young Leadership Fund provides need-based scholarships to undergraduate students attending the University of Minnesota School of Journalism with an interest in print or broadcast journalism.To read about some of the past recipients of the Howie Stillman Young Leadership University of Minnesota Journalism scholarships click here.